your shopping cart is empty

ihr einkaufswagen ist leer
cracked anegg records
gina schwarz & multiphonics 8 - way to blue
gina schwarz & multiphonics 8
way to blue
audio cd | 16,00 EUR

musicians | musiker: daniel manrique-smith/flute, alto flute, bass flute; annette maye/bb-clarinet; mona matbou-riahi/bb-clarinet; steffen schorn/contra-a,lto clarinet, saxophone; thomas savy/bass clarinet; lucas leidinger/piano; mahan mirarab/guitar; dirk-peter kölsch/drums; gina schwarz/bass, composition, arrangement;

description | beschreibung: hommage to nike drake - in 2020 & 2021 bassist & composer gina schwarz had the privilege of being invited to the multiphonics festival cologne as composer in residence. the starting point for her new compositional ideas was the music of the british folk singer, guitarist and composer nick drake (1948 - 1974). the depth of his music, the desperate melancholy, the tender hope and his extraordinary lyrics in songs like "time piece", "way to blue", "riverman", "clothes of sand", "strange meeting II", "blossom", "fruit Ttee", "come into the garden", "things behind the sun" & "three hours" were inspiration for her music. just as drake sometimes structured his albums as a story, her new compositions can also be interpreted as an independent cycle. 
in july 2020, she started composing the day after her father's funeral. In her new music she used childhood stories from the 70's as an inspiration - as a dedication to her father.
tracks & titles samples time
01 lost time prelisten 01:18
02 red grapevine prelisten 04:34
03 caveman prelisten 03:51
04 chat one prelisten 01:57
05 black days prelisten 01:39
06 chat two prelisten 00:54
07 rabbit trap prelisten 03:40
08 chat three prelisten 00:38
09 sandy tracks prelisten 05:33
10 chat four prelisten 01:00
11 choral prelisten 03:04
12 chat five prelisten 00:34
13 blue sunbeam prelisten 02:56
14 chat six prelisten 01:12
15 long ago prelisten 04:37
16 chat seven prelisten 01:05
17 behind prelisten 04:50
18 looking for john prelisten 07:03